Print Friendly and PDF

Chamber Welcomes New Board Members, Stephen Polk Named Board Chair

The Detroit Regional Chamber announced the election of Highgate President and CEO Stephen Polk as chairman of its Board of Directors for the 2017-18 term. Polk, who chaired the highly successful 2017 Mackinac Policy Conference, succeeds Archer Corporate Services President Dennis Archer Jr., whose one-year term as board chairman came to an end.

“My vision for this year is to push forward,” Polk said. “I plan to continue the momentum of this year’s Conference pillars of restoring civility in American politics, winning the race in connected technology, and increasing economic opportunity.”

In addition to announcing the new chair, the Chamber welcomed 12 new executives to its Board of Directors. The new board members, representing the region and a variety of industries, include:

  • Chris Brochert, Partner, Lormax Stern Development Co.
  • Dean Brody, Managing Director, Accenture
  • Michael Brosseau, President, Brose North America Inc.
  • Jeff Davidman, Vice President, State and Local Government Affairs, Delta Air Lines
  • Brian Demkowicz, Managing Partner, Huron Capital Partners LLC
  • Alessandro DiNello, President and CEO, Flagstar Bank
  • Anthony Frabotta, Managing Director, UHY LLP
  • Wright Lassiter III, President, Henry Ford Health System
  • Trevor Lauer, President and CEO, DTE Electric, DTE Energy
  • Leon Richardson, President and CEO, Chemico Systems Inc.
  • David Segura, CEO, VisionIT
  • Chris Thomas, Founder and Partner, Fontinalis Partners LLC

In recognizing the new directors, Chamber President and CEO Sandy Baruah said: “We are incredibly grateful for you volunteering your valuable time. You are all leaders working nationally and internationally and the fact that you would spend some time with us, we are very honored by that.”

The Chamber also made a special presentation to honor Archer for his work as board chairman.

“Dennis made us a better organization. Our culture of diversity and inclusion was impacted by his leadership this past year,” Baruah said.

Archer will remain a member of the board as immediate past chair and will serve on the Executive Committee.

The staff also recognized the service of the outgoing directors including: Stephanie Bergeron, president of Walsh College; Phil Cooley, co-owner of Slows Bar BQ; George Johnson, managing director of George Johnson & Company; Steven Kurmas, vice chairman of DTE Energy; Nigel Thompson, advisor to the CEO for Yazaki North America Inc.; and David Zilko, CEO of Fuel Leadership LLC.

View the full list of board members here.