Print Friendly and PDF

Detroit Regional Chamber’s Political Action Committee Releases Additional Endorsements for General Michigan Election

Additional endorsements, including Congressional, state and Wayne County races announced

DETROIT, September 26, 2014 –Today, the Detroit Regional Chamber’s Political Action Committee (PAC) and Fed PAC Board of Directors announced additional endorsements in several key races at the national, state and county level for Michigan’s general election.

Earlier this year, the Chamber PAC announced its support for the re-election of Governor Rick Snyder, as well as its endorsement of Congressman Gary Peters for Michigan’s open U.S. Senate seat. Further, the Chamber endorsed a slate of candidates for Congress and the Michigan Legislature. In addition to the previous endorsements, the Chamber PAC endorses the following candidates.

Wayne County Executive

Sheriff Warren Evans

“Sheriff Evans showed in his primary campaign an ability to bring voters from across Wayne County together around a vision of economic prosperity and fiscal responsibility. He is the best candidate to work with Mayor Duggan, Brooks Patterson and Mark Hackel to move our region and state forward,” said Terence Thomas, chairman of the Detroit Regional Chamber PAC.

U.S. House of Representatives – 14th District

Mayor Brenda Lawrence

“As a mayor with a proven record of working with many of our members in Southfield and leading a successful city, I am confident that Mayor Lawrence will take those same skills to Washington to deliver results for the entire region,” said Brad Williams, vice president of government relations at the Detroit Regional Chamber.

Michigan Legislature

“The Chamber has a proud tradition of supporting legislators of both parties who are focused on results for the entire state. These candidates represent those values,” said Brad Williams, vice president of government relations for the Detroit Regional Chamber.

Michigan Senate

7th District – Representative Dian Slavens (D-Canton)

17th District – Representative Dale Zorn (R-Ida Twp.)

Michigan House of Representatives

3rd District – Wendell Byrd (D-Detroit)

10th District – Leslie Love (D-Detroit)

17th District – Rep. Bill LaVoy (D-Monroe)

19th District – Commissioner Laura Cox (R-Livonia)

21st District – Carol Ann Fausone (R-Canton)

25th District – Rep. Henry Yanez (D-Sterling Heights)

36th District – Peter Lucido (R-Shelby Twp.)

37th District – Christine Greig (D-Farmington)

49th District – Rep. Phil Phelps (D-Flushing)

52nd District – Rep. Gretchen Driskell (D-Saline)

60th District – Jon Hoadley (D-Kalamazoo)

63rd District – Dave Maturen (R-Portage)

65th District – Brett Roberts (R-Eaton Rapids)

84th District – Edward Canfield (R-Sebawaing)

104th District – Larry Inman (R-Williamsburg)

The Chamber PAC Board of Directors regularly meets to identify and support pro-economic development candidates and policies that are critical to the Chamber’s public policy priorities. After careful consideration, the Chamber PAC Board of Directors made endorsements based on responses to a Chamber PAC survey, input from PAC members and personal interviews with leading candidates interested in the Chamber’s endorsement.

The Chamber PAC prides itself on being one of the most sought-after, bipartisan endorsements in Michigan and focuses in large part on candidates’ stances on business issues and the potential to represent the regional business community. For a full list of Chamber endorsements, visit the Chamber website.

About the Detroit Regional Chamber
Serving the business community for more than 100 years, the Detroit Regional Chamber is one of the oldest, largest and most respected chambers of commerce in the country. The Chamber’s mission of powering the economy for Southeast Michigan is carried out through economic development, education reform, regional collaboration and providing valuable benefits to members. For more information, please visit

# # #