Print Friendly and PDF

Election Results: Chamber’s PAC Continues Successful Track Record of Endorsing Bipartisan Winning Candidates

During the 2018 general election, the Detroit Regional Chamber’s Political Action Committee (PAC) continued its record of successfully endorsing bipartisan, pro-business candidates at the local, state and federal level. With the Chamber PAC’s support, 89 percent of endorsed candidates won their respective races on Nov. 6. Below is a breakdown:


Incumbent U.S. Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) was re-elected to serve as one of the two U.S. Senators representing Michigan.


91 percent of Congressional candidates endorsed by the Chamber were elected, including U.S. Reps. Jack Bergman (R-Watersmeet), Bill Huizenga (R-Zeeland), John Moolenaar (R-Midland), Dan Kildee (D-Flint Township), Fred Upton (R-St. Joseph), Tim Walberg (R-Tipton), Paul Mitchell (R-Dryden Township), Debbie Dingell (D-Dearborn), and Brenda Lawrence (D-Southfield) and Andy Levin for Michigan’s 9th Congressional District.


Incumbent Justice Elizabeth Clement was re-elected to the Michigan Supreme Court.


“The Chamber looks forward to partnering with this capable group of incoming legislators to advance our pro-growth agenda for Southeast Michigan and continue Michigan’s comeback and progress over the past eight years,” said Lindsay Case Palsrok, senior director of Government Relations at the Chamber.

Michigan Senate

21 candidates for the Michigan Senate, including 8 Democrats and 13 Republicans were elected, including:

District 1: Stephanie Chang (D)

District 2: Adam Hollier (D)

District 3: Sylvia Santana (D)

District 4: Marshall Bullock (D)

District 8: Peter Lucido (R)

District 11: Jeremy Moss (D)

District 14: Ruth Johnson (R)

District 16: Mike Shirkey (R)

District 17: Dale Zorn (R)

District 18: Jeff Irwin (D)

District 19: John Bizon (R)

District 23: Curtis Hertel (D)

District 26: Aric Nesbitt (R)

District 27: Jim Ananich (D)

District 28: Peter MacGregor (R)

District 31: Kevin Daley (R)

District 32: Ken Horn (R)

District 33: Rick Outman (R)

District 35: Curt VanderWall (R)

District 36: Jim Stamas (R)

District 37: Wayne Schmidt (R)

Michigan House of Representatives

45 candidates for the Michigan House of Representatives, including 25 Democrats and 20 Republicans were elected, including:

District 1: Tenisha Yancey (D)

District 2: Joseph Tate (D)

District 3: Wendell Byrd (D)

District 6: Tyrone Carter (D)

District 8: Sherry Gay-Dagnogo (D)

District 9: Karen Whitsett (D)

District 10: Leslie Love (D)

District 11: Jewell Jones (D)

District 12: Alex Garza (D)

District 13: Frank Liberati (D)

District 15: Abdullah Hammoud (D)

District 17: Joe Bellino (R)

District 18: Kevin Hertel (D)

District 22: John Chirkun (D)

District 23: Darrin Camilleri (D)

District 26: Jim Ellison (D)

District 27: Robert Wittenberg (D)

District 30: Diana Farrington (R)

District 31: William Sowerby (D)

District 37: Christine Greig (D)

District 38: Kathy Crawford (R)

District 43: Andrea Schroeder (R)

District 45: Michael Webber (R)

District 47: Hank Vaupel (R)

District 49: John Cherry (D)

District 50: Tim Sneller (D)

District 52: Donna Lasinski (D)

District 55: Rebekah Warren (D)

District 56: Jason Sheppard (R)

District 60: Jon Hoadley (D)

District 61: Brandt Iden (R)

District 62: Jim Haadsma (D)

District 66: Beth Griffin (R)

District 68: Sarah Anthony (D)

District 73: Lynn Afendoulis (R)

District 74: Mark Huizenga (R)

District 80: Mary Whiteford (R)

District 85: Ben Frederick (R)

District 87: Julie Calley (R)

District 89: Jim Lilly (R)

District 91: Greg VanWoerkom (R)

District 93: Graham Filler (R)

District 100: Scott VanSingel (R)

District 104: Larry Inman (R)

District 107: Lee Chatfield (R)


Chamber PAC-endorsed incumbent Executive Mark Hackel was re-elected.


Chamber PAC-endorsed incumbent Executive Warren Evans was re-elected.

The Chamber congratulates the candidates on winning their respective races and looks forward to working with them to continue moving Michigan forward.