Detroit Regional Chamber > Detroiter Magazine > Endorsing Democracy

Endorsing Democracy

April 12, 2023

Chamber PAC Required Candidates to Accept 2020 Election Results

In many ways democracy was on the ballot in November 2022. With that in mind, the Detroit Regional Chamber Political Action Committee (PAC) took steps to support only candidates willing to accept the core democratic principles of the nation.

Candidates seeking the endorsement of the bipartisan Chamber PAC, were required to accept the 2020 election results to qualify. Comprised of business leaders from the Chamber membership, the PAC conducted interviews and legislative surveys in all 148 state legislative races and the 13 congressional races ultimately making 92 endorsements with a 91% success rate.

The acceptance of the bipartisan McBroom Report, which found no evidence of widespread fraud in the November 2020 election in Michigan, served as a cornerstone of a revamped PAC endorsement process following the Jan. 6th attack on the U.S. Capitol. No candidate that refused to accept the
McBroom Report and election results earned an endorsement. While accepting the McBroom Report did not guarantee a candidate’s endorsement, failure to do so made them ineligible for the Chamber PAC’s endorsement.

Champions of Democracy

Below is a list of Chamber-endorsed candidates who affirmed the results of the November 2020 election and were victorious in November 2022.

U.S. House of Representatives

2nd Congressional District
Rep. John Moolenaar (R)

4th Congressional District
Rep. Bill Huizenga (R)

6th Congressional District
Rep. Debbie Dingell (D)

7th Congressional District
Rep. Elissa Slotkin (D)

8th Congressional District
Rep. Dan Kildee (D)

10th Congressional District
John James (R)

11th Congressional District
Haley Stevens (D)

Michigan Governor

Gov. Gretchen Whitmer

Secretary of State

Jocelyn Benson

Michigan Senate

2nd District – Sylvia Santana (D)
3rd District – Stephanie Chang (D)
4th District – Darrin Camilleri (D)
5th District – Dayna Polehanki (D)
7th District – Jeremy Moss (D)
8th District – Mallory McMorrow (D)
9th District – Michael Webber (R)
12th District – Kevin Hertel (D
14th District – Sue Shink (D)
16th District – Joe Bellino (R)
21st District – Sarah Anthony (D)
26th District – Kevin Daley (R)
27th District – John Cherry (D)
28th District – Sam Singh (D)
30th District – Mark Huizenga (R)
31st District – Roger Victory (R)
32nd District – Jon Bumstead (R)
34th District – Roger Hauck (R)
36th District – Michele Hoitenga (R)
37th District – John Damoose (R)
38th District – Ed McBroom (R)

Michigan House of Representatives

1st District – Tyrone Carter (D)
2nd District – Tullio Liberati (D)
6th District – Regina Weiss (D)
7th District – Helena Scott (D)
8th District – Mike McFall (D)
10th District – Joe Tate (D)
16th District – Stephanie Young (D)
17th District – Laurie Pohutsky (D)
18th District – Jason Hoskins (D)
19th District – Samantha Steckloff (D)
20th District – Noah Arbit (D)
21st District – Kelly Breen (D)
22nd District – Matt Koleszar (D)
23rd District – Jason Morgan (D)
24th District – Ranjeev Puri (D)
25th District – Kevin Coleman (D)
33rd District – Felicia Brabec (D)
39th District – Pauline Wendzel (R)
40th District – Christine Morse (D)
41st District – Julie Rogers (D)
44th District – Jim Haadsma (D)
45th District – Sarah Lightner (R)
46th District – Kathy Schmaltz (R)
52nd District – Michael Harris (R)
54th District – Donni Steele (R)
55th District – Mark Tisdel (R)
57th District – Thomas Kuhn (R)
58th District – Nate Shannon (D)
60th District – Joseph Aragona (R)
66th District – Joshua Schriver (R)
67th District – Phil Green (R)
72nd District – Michael Mueller (R)
73rd District – Julie Brixie (D)
74th District – Kara Hope (D)
76th District – Angela Witwer (D)
86th District – Nancy De Boer (R)
88th District – Gregory VanWoerkom (R)
90th District – Bryan Posthumus (R)
91st District – Patrick Outman (R)
93rd District – Graham Filler (R)
94th District – Amos O’Neal (D)
99th District – Michael Hoadley (R)
102nd District – Curtis VanderWall (R)
104th District – John Roth (R)
105th District – Kenneth Borton (R)
106th District – Cameron Cavitt (R)

County Executives

Macomb County
Executive Mark Hackel
Wayne County
Executive Warren C. Evans

Michigan Supreme Court

Justice Richard Bernstein
Justice Brian Zahra

Detroit School Board

Latrice McClendon
Angelique Peterson-Mayberry
Iris Taylor

Brad Williams

Brad Williams, Vice President of Government Relations, Detroit Regional Chamber

“Democracy only works when everyone plays by the rules and respects the will of voters. We only endorse candidates who accept the basic tenets of democracy, which is essential to a functioning government that can partner with the private sector to solve complex problems.”

PAC Bipartisan Endorsement Highlights

50/50 Split Between Republicans and Democrats

In November’s general election, the Chamber PAC equality splits its endorsements between Republicans and Democrats in both Congress and the Michigan Legislature – the only business organization to do so.

Big Winners

91% of Chamber-backed candidates won in the November general election outperforming every other business organization in the state.

Two-Time Endorser of Gov. Whitmer

Endorsed incumbent Gov. Gretchen Whitmer for the second time.

Supporting New House Speaker

The Chamber is the only business organization to endorse new House Speaker Joe Tate (D-Detroit) in every legislative race he’s participated in.

Voice of Business in Key Congressional Race

Provided key endorsement to Republican John James who won one of nation’s most hotly contested congressional races by fewer than 2,000 votes.