Detroit Regional Chamber > Advocacy > Detroit Regional Chamber Releases Bipartisan List of Endorsements for November Election

Detroit Regional Chamber Releases Bipartisan List of Endorsements for November Election

September 21, 2020

Today, the Detroit Regional Chamber’s Political Action Committee (PAC) announced bipartisan endorsements in several key races at local, state, and federal levels for the November general election. This follows the Chamber PAC’s first round of endorsements for the August primary election.  

“We selected candidates who can effectively balance supporting businesses while addressing important policies and social issues that are holding back our region,” said PAC Chair Hank Cooney. “This a strong slate of bipartisan candidates we feel will best serve their communities and position Michigan to create jobs and accelerate economic growth as we deal with the impact of COVID-19.” 

Endorsements that were announced today: 

U.S. Senate 

Gary Peters (D)

“Senator Peters’ bipartisan and pragmatic approach has earned him accolades as one of the most effective members in the U.S. Senate and is a trait we find refreshing in today’s highly charged political environment,” said Brad Williams, vice president of government relations for the Chamber. “Peters is the leading U.S. Senator focused on advancing next-generation mobility, which is critical in accelerating Michigan’s role as the global leader in automotive and advanced manufacturing industries.” 

“While challenger John James is a compelling candidate with a bright future in Michigan politics, we think Senator Peters’ record of effectiveness, growing seniority, and responsiveness to the Chamber have earned him the opportunity to keep working for Michigan in the U.S. Senate,” Williams added. 

U.S. House of Representatives 

“Over the past decade, Michigan lost some of our biggest names in Congress, but we are quickly re-establishing clout with some great champions for our state,” Williams said. “This prospective Michigan delegation is uniquely positioned to push for bipartisan solutions that will help our state weather this recession and rebuild the economy in an inclusive fashion.” 

1st District – Jack Bergman (R) 

2nd District – Bill Huizenga (R) 

3rd District – Peter Meijer (R) 

4th District – John Moolenaar (R) 

5th District – Dan Kildee (D) 

6th District – Fred Upton (R) 

7th District – Tim Walberg (R) 

8th District – Elissa Slotkin (D) 

9th District – Andy Levin (D) 

10th District – Lisa McClain (R) 

11th District – Haley Stevens (D) 

12th District – Debbie Dingell (D) 

14th District – Brenda Lawrence (D) 

Oakland County Executive 

Dave Coulter (D) 

Michigan Supreme Court 

Bridget McCormack 

Brock Swartzle 

Michigan House of Representatives 

 1st District – Tenisha Yancey (D) 

2nd District – Joe Tate (D) 

4th District – Abraham Aiyash (D) 

6th District – Tyrone Carter (D) 

9th District – Karen Whitsett (D) 

10th District – Mary Cavanagh (D) 

11th District – Jewell Jones (D) 

12th District – Alex Garza (D) 

13th District – Tullio Liberati (D) 

17th District – Joe Bellino (R) 

18th District – Kevin Hertel (D) 

19th District – Laurie Pohutsky (D) 

22nd District – Richard Steenland (D) 

23rd District – Darrin Camilleri (D) 

24th District – Steve Marino (R) 

25th District – Nate Shannon (D) 

27th District – Regina Weiss (D) 

30th District – Diana Farrington (R) 

31st District – William Sowerby (D) 

32nd District – Pam Hornberger (R) 

35th District – Kyra Bolden (D) 

36th District – Doug Wozniak (R) 

38th District – Kelly Breen (D) 

40th District – Mari Manoogian (D) 

41st District – Padma Kuppa (D) 

43rd District – Andrea Schroeder (R) 

45th District – Mark Tisdel (R) 

48th District – Sheryl Kennedy (D) 

49th District – John Cherry (D) 

51st District – Mike Mueller (R) 

52nd District – Donna Lasinski (D) 

53rd District – Yousef Rabhi (D) 

56th District – T.C. Clements (R) 

63rd District – Matt Hall (R) 

71st District – Angela Witwer (D) 

74th District – Mark Huizenga (R) 

77th District – Tommy Brann (R) 

85th District – Ben Frederick (R) 

87th District – Julie Calley (R) 

91st District – Greg VanWoerkom (R) 

93rd District – Graham Filler (R) 

97th District – Jason Wentworth (R) 

100th District – Scott VanSingel (R) 

101st District – Jack O’Malley (R) 

The Chamber PAC Board of Directors regularly meets to identify and support pro-business candidates and policies that support the Chamber’s public policy priorities. After careful consideration, the Board made the endorsements based on responses to a Chamber PAC survey, input from PAC members and individual interactions. The Chamber PAC Board is comprised of business leaders representing bipartisan views and reflecting diversity in industry, business size, and location. The Chamber PAC historically makes bipartisan endorsements based on alignment with the Chamber’s legislative policy priorities.