Detroit Regional Chamber > Advocacy > Detroit Regional Chamber’s Political Action Committee Releases Endorsements for House of Representatives, Detroit City Council

Detroit Regional Chamber’s Political Action Committee Releases Endorsements for House of Representatives, Detroit City Council

June 30, 2016
Full list of endorsements for state House and City Council races announced

DETROIT, June 30, 2016 – Today, the Detroit Regional Chamber’s Political Action Committee (PAC) announced endorsements of 27 Republicans and 25 Democrats in the Michigan House of Representatives for the primary election, as well as the at-large seat on the Detroit City Council.

The Chamber PAC Board of Directors regularly meets to identify and support candidates that are aligned with the Chamber’s public policy priorities of economic growth and job creation. After careful consideration, the Chamber PAC Board of Directors made endorsements based on responses to a Chamber PAC survey, input from PAC members and personal interviews with leading candidates interested in the Chamber’s endorsement.

The Chamber PAC prides itself on being one of the most sought-after, bipartisan endorsements in Michigan and selects candidates focused on pro-economic growth policy who support creating good job opportunities. The Chamber has a proud tradition of supporting legislators of both parties who are focused on results for the entire state.

Janeé Ayers
“Mayor Duggan and the City Council have proven what they can accomplish working together, and we think Councilwoman Ayers is the right person to continue the role of representing the city and leading it into the future,” said Brad Williams, vice president of government relations for the Detroit Regional Chamber.

“Leadership in the House that’s looking to tackle some big challenges, from infrastructure to education, is essential to keeping Michigan’s momentum going,” Williams said. “With the rapid pace of change around the world, our state must be nimble and adapt quickly with policy that positions Michigan to attract jobs, investment and talent. That requires bipartisan, pragmatic leadership, and we think these candidates reflect those values.”

District 2 – Joseph Tate (D-Detroit)
District 3 – Wendell Byrd (D-Detroit)
District 4 – Quincy Jones (D-Detroit)
District 5 – Fred Durhal III (D-Detroit)
District 6 – Stephanie Chang (D-Detroit)
District 10 – Leslie Love (D-Detroit)
District 12 – Erika Geiss (D-Taylor)
District 13 – Frank Liberati (D-Allen Park)
District 15 – Abdullah Hammoud (D-Dearborn)
District 16 – Robert Kosowski (D-Westland)
District 17 – Bill LaVoy (D-Monroe)
District 18 – Kevin Hertel (D-St. Clair Shores)
District 22 – John Chirkun (D-Roseville)
District 23 – Steven Rzeppa (D-Trenton)
District 25 – Henry Yanez (D-Sterling Heights)
District 27 – Robert Wittenberg (D-Oak Park)
District 29 – Tim Greimel (D-Auburn Hills)
District 30 – Diana Farrington (R-Utica)
District 35 – Jeremy Moss (D-Southfield)
District 36 – Peter Lucido (R-Shelby Township)
District 38 – Kathy Crawford (R-Novi)
District 39 – Klint Kesto (R-Commerce Township)
District 40 – Michael McCready (R-Bloomfield Hills)
District 41 – Martin Howrylak (R-Troy)
District 43 – Jim Tedder (R-Clarkston)
District 45 – Michael Webber (R-Rochester Hills)
District 49 – Phil Phelps (D-Flushing)
District 51 – Joseph Graves (R-Linden)
District 52 – Donna Lasiniski (D-Ann Arbor)
District 55 – Adam Zemke (D-Ann Arbor)
District 56 – Jason Sheppard (R-Temperance)
District 57 – Bronna Kahle (R-Clinton)
District 60 – Jon Hoadley (D-Kalamazoo)
District 61 – Brandt Iden (R-Kalamazoo)
District 63 – David Maturen (R-Vicksburg)
District 66 – Beth Griffin (R-Mattawan)
District 68 – Andy Schor (D-Lansing)
District 69 – Sam Singh (D-East Lansing)
District 70 – James Lower (R-Cedar Lake)
District 72 – Ryan Gallogly (R-Byron Center)
District 73 – Chris Afendoulis (R-Grand Rapids)
District 74 – Rob VerHeulen (R-Walker)
District 78 – Dave Pagel (R-Berrien Springs)
District 79 – Ryan Arnt (R-St. Joseph)
District 86 – Thomas Albert (R-Belding)
District 87 – Julie Calley (R-Portland)
District 89 – Jim Lilly (R-Holland)
District 90 – Daniela Garcia (R-Holland)
District 96 – Brian Elder (D-Bay City)
District 100 – Scott VanSingel (R-Grant)
District 103 – Daire Rendon (R-Lake City)
District 104 – Larry Inman (R-Williamsburg)

About the Detroit Regional Chamber
Serving the business community for more than 100 years, the Detroit Regional Chamber is one of the oldest, largest and most respected chambers of commerce in the country. The Chamber’s mission of powering the economy for Southeast Michigan is carried out through economic development, education reform, regional collaboration and providing valuable benefits to members. For more information, please visit

# # #